Peppermint Patty

I had a very sweet moment this evening.

I was at the end of the checkout lane at the grocery store, bagging up the last of my things. This dear, crinkly, old man was standing at the end with me, finishing with his as well. We were done at the very same time, and we both pulled our mittens out of our pockets. We put them on, one after the other, pulled out our keys, and loaded ourselves up. Our eyes met and we smiled at one another. He winked at me as I stuck my last item, a York Peppermint Patty, into my pocket. In a funny way, I felt that I had more in common with this patient, quiet old man than I do with many other people.

I’m not one to talk about my religious beliefs, but it’s little baby moments like that which make me believe in bigger things. Bigger things like a god; like love; like truth. That might sound silly, but if something so small has the capacity to make me so happy, I can’t comprehend how much potential the world has for good.

That’s all. Have a nice day. :)

2 thoughts on “Peppermint Patty

Leave a Reply

