Beach Lady // Hand & Vector Illustration

As I’ve mentioned, I’ve been encouraged to integrate my hand renderings with some of my vector illustration. It’s been a challenge to do so in a way that enhances the image, rather than making feel forced and unnatural.

I recognize the need to broaden the impact and message of the highly realistic drawings I make, and I feel that I am on my way to doing so with this piece. The peaceful beach atmosphere is conveyed by the warm, subdued color palette and geometric sand ‘texture.’ It’s less literal than what I was producing at first. You’re left wondering why she smiles, but have the feeling she’s receiving a bit of attention.

Graphite drawing of a woman on a beach with a peach colored background.Anyway, it’s still a work in progress. Let me know what you think, eh?

Leave a Reply

